• Alabama - Arkansas
• California - Indiana
• Iowa - Missouri
• Montana - Oregon
• Pennsylvania - Wyoming

Iowa
We've been told that Iowa has repealed requirements concerning lifted 4x4s. For now, that means the general height, weight, and width requirements that apply to all other vehicles in the state apply to your four-by. Translation: The height cannot exceed 13 feet, 6 inches, and width can't go beyond 8 feet.

Kansas
There aren't laws specifically about the suspension, but rather about headlights, taillamps, and reflectors. Headlights should be no higher than 54 inches and no lower than 24 inches, and the taillamps can't reach higher than 72 inches or below 15 inches. Reflectors must be present, front and rear; in back, they can be incorporated into the light or stand alone and can't be higher than 60 inches or lower than 15 inches. For more information, check out www.kansas.gov.

Kentucky
Currently, there are no restrictions in terms of bumper height. The Kentucky General Assembly has addressed the issue before, but, lo and behold, no one could agree on anything. Just keep it at what most would call safe. For more information, check out www.kentucky.gov.

Louisiana
It's a headlight state. No matter what kind of motor vehicle you drive, the lights can't be higher than 54 inches. Alter the suspension however you deem fit, as long as the lights are up to code. Foglights can't be higher than 30 inches from the ground. For more information, check out www.louisiana.gov.

Maine
Headlights: Don't even think about going higher than 54 inches. However, keep in mind that the original suspension cannot be "disconnected," but don't let that stop you from bolting on heavy-duty shocks and over-load springs. Other need-to-knows: Don't remove or disconnect the ABS, and the tires can be only two sizes larger than the manufacturer's recommendation. Spring-shackle extensions are also a no-no. For more information, check out www.maine.gov.

Maryland
No trucks or multipurpose vehicles with GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less can be taller than 28 inches. A truck beyond 10,000 pounds-but not more than 18,000 pounds-can go beyond 30 inches (you Excursion owners just made it into that first grouping under the wire). Lift more than those 30s, and you'll be ticketed or given a Safety Equipment Repair Order (SERO) to fix the violation. For more information, check out www.maryland.gov.

Massachusetts
Get out your calculator: The maximum allowable mechanical lift (as well as what's acceptable in terms of bigger rubber) can be determined by this formula: Maximum Lift = Wheelbase x Wheel Track / 2,200For example, if you did that formula and came up with 2 inches, then a 2-inch lift and a 2-inch increase in tire size is allowable, equaling a total lift of 4 inches over stock. For more information, check out www.massachusetts.gov.

Michigan
Lift blocks between the front axle and springs or lift blocks that exceed 4 inches in height between the rear axle and springs are not allowed. Shackle replacements cannot exceed the OE length by more than 2 inches, and ixnay on the coil-spring spacers. In terms of acceptable height, less than 4,501 GVWR, and your frame height cannot exceed 24 inches, and the bumper height can't go beyond 26 inches. For GVWRs between 4,501 and 7,500, your frame height can't exceed 24 inches and the bumper height can't be greater than 28 inches. For 7,501- to 10,000-pound vehicles, keep the height at 26 inches for the frame and 30 inches for the bumpers. For more information, check out www.michigan.gov.

Minnesota
The maximum legal height for bumpers is 25 inches from the bottom of the bumper to the ground. If you attach something to the bumper to make it conform to the legal height, it must be just as strong as the factory bumper or meet SAE standards. Simply bolting on pieces of wood or metal isn't gonna cut it, folks. If you slap on a lift kit, you might actually be required to register your truck as a "reconstructed" vehicle, and that would mean you'd have to pay an additional road-use tax and need an inspection where a new VIN would be applied. For more information, check out www.minnesota.gov.

Mississippi
No vehicle can be modified in any way that will put it over the state's 8-inch total lift limit, and the maximum suspension lift front and rear is 6 inches, so make sure your big tires won't be over the limit if you raise the suspension that much. For more information, check out www.mississippi.gov.

Missouri
Here's another state that uses the GVWR as the bumper height guideline. For vehicles 4,500 pounds and under, the front bumper can't be taller than 24 inches, and the rear bumper must see no more than 26 inches. For 4,501 to 7,500 pounds, it's 27 inches front and 29 inches rear. For 7,501 to 9,000 pounds, it's 28 inches front and 30 inches rear. For more information, check out www.missouri.gov.